REGISTRATION DRIVE

BEST PRACTICES

KYLE ARDOIN

SECRETARY OF STATE

Thank you for your interest in helping our fellow citizens to register to vote! The information below includes best practices that will ensure your drive not only complies with law, but is successful. Questions? Call the Louisiana Secretary of State's Election Division at 800.883.2805 or go to www.GeauxVote.com for more information.

- 1. Applications must include a current legal residence. A post office box MAY NOT be used as a residence.
- 2. Consider using Louisiana's online registration service at www.GeauxVote.com. Applicants with a Louisiana driver's license or Louisiana special ID card can register electronically or make changes to their registration quickly and easily on a tablet or laptop.

- 3. Contact the local parish registrar of voters prior to conducting your drive. The registrar can provide paper applications for your use.
- 4. Read and understand all of the directions listed at the top of the Voter Registration Application so that you can easily assist applicants with questions.
- 5. Applications must include a Louisiana driver's license number or Louisiana special ID card number. If not, the last four digits of the social security number may be used. (The Office of Motor Vehicles will provide a special ID card free of charge for voter identification purposes.) Otherwise, the applicant shall attach one of the following items:
- Current and valid photo identification
- Current utility bill, bank statement, government check, paycheck or other government document that shows name and address

ALL REGISTRATION APPLICATIONS MUST BE TURNED IN TO THE REGISTRAR OF VOTERS OFFICE WITHIN 30 DAYS OF RECEIPT!

Applicants must vote IN PERSON the first time after registering online or by mail. Applicants will receive a verification mailing or voter ID card within 30 days of eligibility determination by the registrar of voters.

KNOW LAW THE LAW AND THE LAW A

Voter registration applications contain important and sensitive personal information. It is a crime to copy voter registration applications and the information they contain for any reason. The criminal penalty for a first offense violation is \$2,000 or two years in jail, or both. Protect the identity of those you're assisting in registering by following the law!

R.S. 18:1461.2 ELECTION OFFENSES AFFECTING REGISTRATION AND ELECTION FRAUD OR FORGERY; PENALTIES

- A. No person shall knowingly, willfully, or intentionally:
- (3) Register, vote, or attempt to register or vote in the name of another or in an assumed or fictitious name, or in any manner other than as provided in this Title.
- (4) Forge the name of another or use a fictitious name on an affidavit or document required under this Title.
- (5) Procure or submit voter registration applications that are known by the person to be materially false, fictitious, or fraudulent.
- (6) Forge, alter, add to, deface, take, destroy, or remove from proper custodial care any book, card, record, voter registration application, election return, nomination papers, withdrawals of candidacy, election supplies, election paraphernalia, or any affidavit or other document required or provided for under the provisions of this Title, unless required to be removed by a court of competent jurisdiction for inspection and photostatic copying for the court record.
- (7) Have in his possession an official ballot in violation of any provision of this Title.
- (8) Have in his possession the registration certificate of another with intent to violate any provision of this Title.
- (9) For purposes other than fulfilling the person's duties relative to registration of voters as provided by law, copy or reproduce a voter registration application that has been submitted by an applicant.
- B. Whoever violates any provision of this Section shall be fined not more than two thousand dollars or be imprisoned, with or without hard labor, for not more than two years, or both, for the first offense. On a second offense, or any subsequent offense, the penalty shall be a fine of not more than five thousand dollars or imprisonment at hard labor for not more than five years, or both.

R.S. 18:1461.7 MISCELLANEOUS ELECTION OFFENSES; PENALTIES

- A. No person shall knowingly, willfully, or intentionally:
- (1) Fail to submit to the parish registrar of voters a completed registration application collected through a registration drive within thirty days of receipt of the completed application from the applicant.
- B. Whoever violates any provision of Subsection A of this Section shall be fined not more than one thousand dollars or be imprisoned for not more than one year, or both. On a second offense, or any subsequent offense, the penalty shall be a fine of not more than two thousand five hundred dollars or imprisonment for not more than five years, or both.

P.O. Box 94125 · Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9125 8585 Archives Ave. · Baton Rouge, LA 70809 225.922.2880 · 800.883.2805 · www.sos.la.gov

This public document is published at a total cost of \$794.55. 7,500 copies of this public document were published in this first printing at a cost of \$794.55. The total cost of all printings of this document including reprints is \$794.55. This document was published by OTS-Production Support Services, 627 N. Fourth St., Baton Rouge, LA 70802 to be used as a resource material under authority of special exception by the Division of Administration. This material was printed in accordance with standards for printing by state agencies established in R.S. 43:31. Printing of this material was purchased in accordance with the provisions of Title 43 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes.