NEWS RELEASE

Louisiana Department of State



Tom Schedler Secretary of State

P.O. Box 94125 Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9125 www.sos.la.gov



Meg Casper Press Secretary 225.362.5086 meg.casper@sos.la.gov

Oct. 17, 2013

ELECTION DAY REMINDERS

Secretary of State Tom Schedler reminds everyone that <u>SATURDAY, OCT. 19</u> is election day in many parishes across the state. Eligible voters will be casting ballots for municipal elections as well as 5th Congressional District candidates beginning at <u>7 A.M.</u>

In preparation for Saturday's election activities, Secretary Schedler is encouraging voters to remember:

- Polls open at 7 a.m. and close at 8 p.m.
- Sample ballots can be reviewed by downloading the GeauxVote Mobile app for smartphones or by visiting <u>www.sos.la.gov</u>.
- Election results can be viewed in real-time via the GeauxVote Mobile app for the first time on Saturday. The update allows voters to get results anywhere, anytime!
- Voters can also sign up for text alerts via the GeauxVote Mobile app.

"It is truly important for everyone to get out and vote on Saturday," says Secretary of State Tom Schedler. "Many of these municipal elections will determine who represents you locally and what kind of public services are provided in your area. You can't make a difference if you don't vote!"

The following 49 parishes have municipal elections on Saturday: Acadia, Allen, Avoyelles, Beauregard, Bienville, Bossier, Caddo, Caldwell, Catahoula, Concordia, Claiborne, DeSoto, East Baton Rouge, East Carroll, East Feliciana, Franklin, Grant, Iberia, Jackson, Jefferson, Jefferson Davis, Lafayette, LaSalle, Lincoln, Livingston, Madison, Morehouse, Natchitoches, Orleans, Ouachita, Rapides, Richland, Sabine, St. Bernard, St. Helena, St. James, St. John, St. Landry, St. Mary, St. Tammany, Tangipahoa, Tensas, Terrebonne, Vernon, Washington, Webster, West Carroll, West Feliciana and Winn.

Additionally, the following parishes are included in the 5th congressional district election: Avoyelles, Caldwell, Catahoula, Concordia, East Carroll, Franklin, Grant, Jackson, LaSalle, Lincoln, Madison, Morehouse, Ouachita, Rapides, Richland, Tensas, Washington, West Carroll, West Feliciana and Winn as well as parts of East Feliciana, St. Helena, St. Landry and Tangipahoa.

- <u>www.sos.la.gov</u> -