New Examination Applicants
Once you have completed the Application to Qualify, you can apply to take the state notary examination by filling out the Examination Registration Form. The Application to Qualify and Examination Registration Form must be approved by the office of the Secretary of State. The deadline to get your Application to Qualify and the Examination Registration Form to the Secretary of State office is 45 days prior to the exam. Forms can be filed online or via mail, fax or email. The Credit Card Cover Sheet must accompany fax or email filings.
Commissioned Notary Examination Applicants
Act 793 of 2006 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature
· Provides for statewide jurisdiction for notaries who have taken and passed the state notary exam.
· Provides for any regularly commissioned notary public who was commissioned before the state exam was instituted to qualify for statewide jurisdiction by taking and passing the state exam.
To apply, the notary completes an Examination Registration Form ONLY and sends it to Secretary of State's office 45 days prior to the examination date along with the $75 examination registration fee.
Failure to pass the examination shall have no effect on the status of the commission of the notary.
Pursuant to Act 423 of the 2006 Regular Louisiana Legislative Session the Notary Examination will be administered by the Secretary of State on the first Saturday in June and December.
The Secretary of State's office must receive the applicant's Application to Qualify with the qualifying fee of $25 and the Notary Examination Registration Form with a separate examination registration fee of $75 on or before forty-five (45) days prior to the date of the examination.