FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
When does a Louisiana notary's commission expire?
Notaries in Louisiana are commissioned for life pursuant to Attorney General Opinion 1940-42.
Are Louisiana notaries required to use a seal?
A Louisiana notary's signature is his seal.
What can a notary charge for his services? Or Does Louisiana have a statutory fee schedule?
Louisiana does not have a statutory fee schedule which would determine or limit what a notary can charge for his services.
How can I find information on a Louisiana notary?
Our online Notary Database contains current contact information on all notaries.
What are the qualifications of a Louisiana notary?
A notary must be a resident citizen (registered to vote in the parish of residence) or alien of the state, 18 years of age or older, and take and pass the statewide standarized exam administered by the Secretary of State. Anyone licensed to practice law in the state is exempt from the test. See Title 35:191.
How do I become a Louisiana notary?
Notary applicants must be qualified by the office of the Secretary of State and be commissioned in the parish of their residence. Qualified notary applicants must take and pass the state notary examination unless they are licensed to practice law in Louisiana. The examination is given twice a year on the first Saturday in June and December. See How to Become a Notary.
How do I find a course or class to help me prepare for the exam?
All providers of examination preparation for the State Notary exam are required to register with the Secretary of State. All registered providers are listed on our Provider Registry List.
35 191.4 (effective date January 1, 2010)
Do I have to take a course or class?
No class or course is required by law.
Who gives the exam in my parish?
The Secretary of State administers the exam regionally twice a year.
What do I do after I pass the exam?
In order to be commissioned by the Secretary of State on behalf of the Governor, the following documents are required.
Oath of Office
$10,000 Notary Bond or Errors and Omissions Policy or Personal Surety
$35 commission filing fee
Follow the instructions for NEW APPLICATION under Notary - How to File - New Application
What are the bond requirements?
Notary Surety Bonds, Errors and Omissions policies and Personal Surety Bonds are required by law to be in the amount of $10,000. Surety bonds and Errors and Omissions policies must be renewed every 5 years. A $20 filing fee is required. Personal Surety Bonds expire upon cancellation or death of the surety. Follow the instructions for BOND RENEWAL under Notary - How to File - Bond Renewal.
What is an Application of Qualification?
An application proving age, residence and voter registration, attesting to the notary's good moral character, integrity, competency and sober habits and finds a person competent and possessed of the necessary qualifications to be a notary after the notary examination has been passed. The qualifying fee is a separate $25 fee. Application to Qualify
If I work in a parish other than my residence parish, can I still notarize in that parish?
There are groups of reciprocal parishes created by the legislature. See Title 35:191(F-U) The reciprocal agreement allows a validly appointed notary in a parish authorization to exercise any and all functions of a notary in the reciprocal parishes without additional bonding or examination. See list of reciprocal parishes.
If the parishes are not reciprocal you may obtain a Dual Commission. No test is required, but you must maintain bonds in both parishes.
Do I need to wait until I receive my commission certificate from the Secretary of State to notarize?
No. You may start on your commission date which can be obtained from the Notary Database.
Can I get an extra or replacement commission certificate?
Yes. Send a request along with a check or money order for $15 to this office. See Fee Schedule.
How do I change the address on my commission?
Send the changes to this office by mail, facsimile, or e-mail.
P.O. Box 94125
Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9125
Telephone: (225) 922-0507
Facsimile: (225) 932-5359
How do I change the name on my commission?
Execute another oath with the new name, change the name on your bond, supply us with an official signature page and a name change affidavit with the $35 fee. Please follow the instructions for NAME CHANGE under Notary and How to File.
Why is my notary status suspended on the Notary Database?
The suspended status refers to your bond being expired or not filing an annual report.
Supply this office with an original or certified true copy of your bond signed by the clerk of court in your parish or an original or certified true copy of your Errors and Omission policy with a check or money order for the $20 filing fee.
File your current and any past due annual reports. Follow the instructions under Notary - How to File - Bond Renewal.
If you have a Personal Surety and it is not indicated on the Notary Database, please supply us with the correct information.
I have moved to another parish. Do I need to transfer my commission?
Yes. If you change your parish of residence you must change your commission to that parish. Follow the instructions on the Notary website under Notary - How to File - Parish Change.
I have moved to a parish which is in my reciprocal group. Do I need to transfer my commission?
Yes. Even though the parishes have a reciprocal agreement, you must be commissioned in your parish of residence. Follow the instructions for PARISH CHANGE under Notary - How to File - Parish Change.
Since attorney-notaries have statewide notarial powers, are they required to transfer their commission if they move from their parish of commission?
Yes, although attorney-notaries have statewide jurisdiction, the commission is for their parish of residence. Follow the instructions for PARISH CHANGE under Notary - How to File - Parish Change.
I have a document(s) going out of the country that has to be certified (apostilled, state sealed, authenticated). What do I need to do?
Documents going to another country require certification by the Secretary of State. The Commissions Division certifies the signature of the acknowledging Louisiana official. The fee is $20 per certificate and $10 for adoption certificates issued. Documents are normally processed and returned within 24 hours. For complete information visit the Commissions Division site.
I recently moved to Louisiana, can my notary commission be transferred?
No, La.R.S. 35:191 requires that you take and pass a written exam administered by the Secretary of State. This exam cannot be waived because you were a notary in another state.
Click here for Notary Quick Facts.