Louisiana Governors 1699 - 1766

FRENCH PERIOD (1699 - 1766)

 Iberville 1699-1702
Pierre Le Moyne, Sieur d'Iberville
Iberville is said to have been the founder of Louisiana. He was commissioned by Louis XIV to secure the claims of La Salle on behalf of France and to explore and colonize the vast Louisiana Territory.
Sieur de Sauvolve
No known image of this governor exists. Sieur de Sauvolve became acting governor when Iberville returned to France to seek assistance for the territory. He died of yellow fever in 1701.

 Jean Baptiste Le Moyne, Sieur de Bienville 1701-1713
Jean Baptiste Le Moyne, Sieur de Bienville
Bienville came to the Louisiana Territory with his brother Iberville in 1699. He served as lieutenant governor and was appointed to succeed Sauvolve by Louis XIV. He was 21 at the time.
 Antoine de Lamothe, Sieur de Cadillac 1713-1716
Antoine de Lamothe, Sieur de Cadillac
Cadillac was appointed by Louis XIV and also served under Louis XV. He quarreled with all his subordinates, especially Bienville, who was retained as the lieutenant governor, and rendered himself obnoxious to the Indians. He was recalled to France in 1716 and imprisoned in the Bastille for four months. He later became governor of Castelsarrasin, France.
 Jean Baptiste Le Moyne, Sieur de Bienville 1716-1717
Jean Baptiste Le Moyne, Sieur de Bienville
Bienville was acting governor following Cadillac's removal.
 Jean Michiele de L'Epinay 1717-1718
Jean Michiele de L'Epinay
L'Epinay served under Louis XV. His brief administration was marked by the same dissent ions as that of his predecessor. He caused extreme dissatisfaction by prohibiting the sale of liquor to the Indians, the colonist's most profitable item of commerce. L'Epinay was removed as governor in 1718.
 Jean Baptiste Le Moyne, Sieur de Bienville 1718-1724
Jean Baptiste Le Moyne, Sieur de Bienville
Bienville was appointed again as governor by Louis XV and served until Jan. 16, 1724 when he was recalled to France to answer charges made against him by his enemies in Louisiana.
Pierre Sidrac Dugue de Boisbriand
No known image exists of this governor. Boisbriand, Bienville's cousin, was named interim governor by Louis XV to replace Bienville, who had been recalled to France to answer charges of malfeasance.
Etienne de Perier
No known image of this governor exists. Perier was named governor of Louisiana to permanently replace Bienville after his recall to France. He served under Louis XV through the time of transition from colony back to royal province status until 1733 when Bienville again returned to office.
 Jean Baptiste Le Moyne, Sieur de Bienville 1733-1743
Jean Baptiste Le Moyne, Sieur de Bienville
Under Louis XV, Bienville assumes the governorship for the final time. He resigned in 1743 and returned to France.
 Pierre Rigaud, Marquis de Vaudreuil 1743-1753
Pierre Rigaud, Marquis de Vaudreuil
Vaudreuil was appointed by Louis XV to succeed Bienville and served until 1753 when he left to become governor general of Canada.
 Louis Billouart, Chevalier de Kerlerec 1753-1763
Louis Billouart, Chevalier de Kerlerec
Kerlerec was appointed governor by Louis XV as a reward for 25 years of distinguished military service. Later accused of malfeasance, he returned to France and was jailed in the Bastille for a time before his death in 1770. During his term, much of the Louisiana Territory was ceded to Spain by France under the secret treaty at Fountainbleu.
 Jean Jacques Blaise d'Abbadie 1763-1765
Jean Jacques Blaise d'Abbadie
Louis XV continued to direct the affairs in Louisiana because the Treaty of Fontainebleau remained secret and he appointed D'Abbadie to serve as governor. In 1765, the king informed him that Louisiana had become a Spanish province and ordered his return to France. He died shortly afterward in New Orleans on Feb. 4, 1765, before the Spanish occupation forces arrived.
Charles Phillipe Aubry
Charles Phillipe Aubry served under Louis XV as transitional governor between French and Spanish regimes after Gov. D'Abbadie died in office.