Louisiana Governors 1766 - 1812

SPANISH PERIOD (1766 - 1803)

 Antonio de Ulloa 1766-1768
Antonio de Ulloa
Ulloa was the first Spanish governor of Louisiana, and served under King Charles III. The French colonists rebelled against Spanish authority in 1768 and demanded his departure. He soon sailed to Havana.
 Alejandro O'Reilly 1769-1770
Alejandro O'Reilly
King Charles III appointed O'Reilly to quell the rebellion of 1768. In his brief administration, he reorganized the colony and emphasized fairness to anxious French colonists uneasy about Spanish rule.
Luis de Unzaga y Amezaga
Unzaga was appointed by O'Reilly who left in 1770, and served under King Charles III. He continued policies to strengthen ties between French colonists and Spanish administrators.
 Bernardo de Galvez 1777-1785
Bernardo de Galvez
Galvez served under Charles III and improved upon Unzaga's policies. He worked to increase commerce and trade. When Spain declared war against England, he supplied Americans with arms and captured all British posts in west Florida, which gave Spain the possession of both east and west Florida after the war.
 Esteban Rodriguez Miro y Sabater 1782-1792
Esteban Rodriguez Miro y Sabater
Miro served under Charles III and Charles IV. He was an interim governor while Galvez was in Cuba from 1782 to 1785 and was appointed governor in 1785. During his term, Spain allowed trade with France and the French West Indies and removed the duty on ships for two years which contributed to the development of New Orleans as an international port.
 Francoise-Louis Hector, Baron de Carondelet et Noyelles 1791-1797
Francoise-Louis Hector, Baron de Carondelet et Noyelles
Carondelet served under King Charles IV. A native of France, he was also a loyal Spanish army officer and governor who had the ironic distinction of ensuring that the French Revolution did not spread to Louisiana.
 Manuel Gayoso de Lemos y Amorin 1797-1799
Manuel Gayoso de Lemos y Amorin
Gayoso was appointed by Charles IV because of his ability to speak English and his knowledge of colonial politics. He died from yellow fever in 1799.
Sebastian Calvo de la Puerta Y O'Fariel, Marqui de Casa CalvoCasa
Calvo was appointed by Charles IV as an interim governor after Gayoso's death. He was a Spanish army officer and native Cuban who governed during the tumultuous times -- Spain and America were in conflict over free navigation of the lower Mississippi River, and Napoleon tried to force the return of Louisiana to France.
Juan Manuel de Salcedo
No known image of this governor exists. Salcedo served under Charles IV and battled his government over the rights of Americans to navigate freely down the Mississippi River below Natchez, Miss. He left for a post in the Canary Islands after he officially transferred the colony to France on Nov. 30, 1803.



 Pierre Clement de Laussat 1803
Pierre Clement de Laussat
Laussat came to Louisiana as Napoleon's representative before the transfer from Spain to France. His role was to prepare for the new French governor, Gen. Claude Victor. He served as interim governor from Nov. 30 to Dec. 20, 1803. Within weeks, Napoleon changed his mind and ordered negotiations to sell the territory to the United States. 



 William C.C. Claiborne 1803-1812
William C.C. Claiborne - Democrat/Republican
President Thomas Jefferson sent Mississippi Territorial Gov. William C.C. Claiborne to New Orleans to formally accept the transfer of Louisiana from France to the United States. Claiborne was assisted by Gen. James Wilkinson in administering the territory until he was named as the first governor of the Territory of Orleans which is now the State of Louisiana. Claiborne held the office of territorial governor through the admission of Louisiana to the Union in 1812.