NEWS RELEASE

Louisiana Department of State



Tom Schedler Secretary of State

P.O. Box 94125 Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9125 www.sos.la.gov



Meg Casper Sunstrom Press Secretary 225.362.5086 meg.sunstrom@sos.la.gov

March 10, 2017

EARLY VOTING BEGINS SATURDAY FOR SPRING MUNICIPAL ELECTIONS

Secretary of State Tom Schedler is encouraging all Louisianians eligible to vote in the Spring Municipal Election cycle to consider voting early. Early voting begins SATURDAY, MARCH 11 and continues through SATURDAY, MARCH 18 from 8:30 a.m. to 6 p.m. daily, excluding Sunday, March 12.

Voters should utilize Louisiana's award-winning smartphone application, GeauxVote Mobile, to find out where to early vote as well as what's on their ballot. In addition to a variety of local candidate and proposition elections in 37 parishes*, there are also three open state representative seats in Districts 8, 42 and 92 which could be of regional interest. (NOTE: The vacant 2nd Senatorial District seat vacated by Troy Brown is not on the ballot until April 29. Qualifying for that race is next week, March 15-17.)

Another reminder for voters impacted by the floods, or by the recent tornado in New Orleans, is to check early voting sites as well as their Election Day precincts for changes due to physical damage. Thirteen precincts in New Orleans east have recently moved due to tornado damage, and the Juban Crossing early voting site in Livingston Parish is NOT opening this election cycle. Voters in Livingston Parish should visit their Registrar of Voters Office to early vote.

Citizens who want to vote early may do so in person at their parish Registrar of Voters Office or at other designated locations. For a complete listing of early voting locations, visit <u>https://voterportal.sos.la.gov/EarlyVoting.</u>

- <u>www.sos.la.gov</u> -

^{*}Parishes with elections include: Acadia, Allen, Bienville, Bossier, Caddo, Calcasieu, Caldwell, East Carroll, East Feliciana, Evangeline, Grant, Iberia, Jackson, Jefferson Davis, Jefferson, Lafayette, Lafourche, LaSalle, Livingston, Morehouse, Natchitoches, Ouachita, Orleans, Pointe Coupee, Rapides, Richland, Sabine, St. Charles, St. Helena, St. John, St. Landry, St. Martin, St. Mary, St. Tammany, Tangipahoa, Tensas and Vermilion.