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Department of State
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Public Hearing — Substantive Changes to Proposed Rule — Department of State Museums
(LAC 25:VL305, 307, 311)

Under the authority of the Administrative Procedure Act (R.S. 49:950 et seq.) and under
the authority of R.8. 36:742, R.S. 36:744, and R.S. 49:222(A), the Department of State published
a Notice of Intent to adopt rules and regulations for the Department of State’s museums in the
September 20, 2018 edition of the Louisiana Register. The Department of State conducted a
public hearing on Tuesday, October 30, 2018 to receive comments and testimony on the
proposed Rule. At the public hearing, the Department reported that it had received a written
comment regarding the Louisiana State Cotton Museum using a per hour fee for rental rather
than a per event fee which is currently being used. After receiving this comment, the
codirectors of the Museums Program reviewed the Notice of Intent and it was noted that two
other museums are currently using a per event fee rather than a per hour fee. Consideration was
given to the comment received and as a result, the Department of State proposes to amend
Sections 305, 307, and 311. The original proposal for Sections 305, 307, and 311 are being
resubmitted, as revised, for publication in the Potpourri Section of the Louisiana Register. Since
these are the current fees, the original impact statement will still be applicable per our
communications with the Legislative Fiscal Office.

Title 25
CULTURAL RESOURCES
Part VL. Department of State’s Museums

Chapter 3. Museums Fees

§305. Louisiana State Cotton Museum Fees

A. Daytime Events. Daytime events shall be held during regular business hours.
The building shall remain open to the public during the scheduled event time although special
arrangements may be made to restrict public access to event areas. All of the following daytime
event fees include tables, chairs, janitorial service, and set-up and breakdown of the event:

L. for a four-hour event or less without food and beverage, the event fee will
be $50; and
2. for an eight-hour event or less with food and beverage, the event fee will
be $100.
B. Evening Events. Private events shall be no more than four hours in duration and

shall be scheduled after regular business hours. No event shall run beyond midnight. The event
fee shall be $300.

C. All rentals require a 10 percent non-refundable deposit to reserve the date.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 36:742, R.S. 36:744,
and R.S. 49:222(A).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of State, Museums
Program, LR 44:

§307. Louisiana Delta Music Museum Fees



A, Daytime Events. Daytime events shall be held during regular business hours.
The building shall remain open to the public during the scheduled event time although special
arrangements may be made to restrict public access to event areas. All of the following daytime
event fees include tables, chairs, janitorial service, and set-up and breakdown of the event. The
event fee shall be $200.

B. Evening and Weekend Events. Private events shall be held for no more than four
hours in duration. The event fee shall be $420. Evening events shall be scheduled after regular
business hours. No event shall run beyond midnight.

C. A refundable damage deposit of $100 is required for all rentals.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 36:742, R.S. 36:744,
and R.S. 49:222(A).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of State, Museums
Program, LR 44:

§311. Louisiana Oil and Gas Museum Fees

A. Evening Events. Private events shall be held for no more than four hours in
duration and shall be scheduled after regular business hours. The event fee shall be $500. No
event shall run beyond midnight.

B. A refundable damage deposit of $250 is required for all rentals,

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 36:742, R.S. 36:744,
and R.S. 49:222(A).
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of State, Museums
Program, LR 44:
Public Hearing

In accordance with R.S. 49:968(H)(2), a public hearing on the proposed revisions to the
Notice of Intent will be held on Tuesday, May 28, 2019 at 1:00 p.m. in the Auditorium at the
State Archives Building, 3851 Essen Lane, Baton Rouge, LA. At that time, all interested persons
will be afforded an opportunity to submit data, views, or arguments, either orally or in writing,
regarding the proposed action. All comments must be received in writing in order to be
submitted to legislative oversight committees. Interested persons should submit written
comments to Steve Hawkland, Attorney, Legal Division, Department of State, P.O. Box 94125,
Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9125. He will be responsible for responding to inquiries regarding the
proposed Rule. The deadline for the Department of State to receive written comments is 4:30
p.m. on Wednesday, May 29, 2019 after the public hearing.

R. Kyle Ardoin
Secretary of State



