DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY

Department of State
Business Services Division

Home Service Contract Providers
(LAC 19:V.Chapter 3)

The Secretary of State, pursuant to the emergency provisions of the Administrative
Procedure Act (R.S. 49:953(B)) and under the authority of R.S. 51:3141 through 3146 and R.S.
36:742, has adopted a Declaration of Emergency to govern home service contract providers.
During the 2015 Regular Legislative Session, Act No. 161 was adopted transferring the
registration process for home service contract providers from the Department of Insurance to the
Department of State effective January 15, 2016. Since the Secretary of State did not have legal
authorization to adopt policies and procedures regarding home service contract providers until
January 15, 2016, the Secretary of State has determined that a Declaration of Emergency should
be adopted until the Department can proceed through the rule-making process and adopt a final
rule.

The Declaration of Emergency shall become effective on January 19, 2016 and shall
remain in effect for the maximum period allowed under the Administrative Procedure Act or
until a final rule is adopted, whichever occurs first.

Title 19
CORPORATION AND BUSINESS
Part V. Secretary of State
Chapter 3. Home Service Contract Providers

§301. Home Service Contract Providers Registration with the Department of State

A. Prior to doing business in the State of Louisiana, all home service contract providers
will be required to register with the Department of State.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 12:314.1 and R.S. 36:742,

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of State, Business Services
Division, LR 42:

§303. Home Service Contract Providers Registration Fee
A. The secretary of state hereby adopts the following fee schedule for home service
contract providers transacting business in this state:
1. Beginning January 2016, all home service contract providers who want to do
business in Louisiana shall pay the Department an initial registration fee of $600.
2. Every two years thereafter, each home service contract provider will be
required to pay a renewal fee of $250 by January 15th.
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 12:314.1 and R.S. 36:742.



HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of State, Business Services
Division, LR 42:

Provider Impact Statement

The proposed Rule does not have any known or unforeseeable impact on providers as
defined by HCR 170 of the 2014 Regular Legislative Session. In particular, there should be no
known or foreseeable effect on:

1. the effect on the staffing level requirements or qualifications required to provide the
same level of service;

2. the total direct and indirect effect on the cost to the providers to provide the same level
of service; or

3. the overall effect on the ability of the provider to provide the same level of service.
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