Get Exam Information
New Examination Applicants
Once you have completed the Application to Qualify, you can apply to take the state notary examination by filling out the Examination Registration. The Application to Qualify and Examination Registration must be approved by the office of the Secretary of State. The deadline to submit your Application to Qualify and Examination Registration to the Secretary of State office is 45 days prior to the exam. Forms can be filed online, via mail or fax.
The Secretary of State, in conjunction with LSU Office of Assessment and Evaluation, is now offering a test that will aid in your decision to take the Louisiana Notary Exam.
This Notary Pre-Assessment is designed to help you make an informed decision about pursuing a notary commission in Louisiana. The work of Louisiana notaries is based on the laws as written in the Louisiana Civil Code and in the Louisiana Revised Statutes. The code, the statutes and the official study guide for the Louisiana Notary Public Examination are written at a reading level that corresponds to Level B on this assessment. Our research shows that the closer to Level A one scores, the greater one’s likelihood of success on the exam. When considering the score you receive, you should note that each level is based on averages and thus provides a general estimate of one’s reading comprehension ability.
Please note again that the score you receive is provided with the intent of helping you make an informed decision about pursuing a notary commission. Regardless of your score or indicated level on the pre-assessment, you are not prohibited from taking the Louisiana Notary Public Examination at any time of your choosing, and as many times as you like.
Once your Application to Qualify for Appointment as Notary Public has been approved, you can login and register for the Notary Pre-Assessment.
Commissioned Notary Examination Applicants
Act 793 of 2006 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature
- Provides for statewide jurisdiction for notaries who have taken and passed the state notary exam.
- Provides for any regularly commissioned notary public who was commissioned before the state exam was instituted to qualify for statewide jurisdiction by taking and passing the state exam.
To apply, the notary completes an Examination Registration Form and sends it to Secretary of State's office 45 days prior to the examination date along with the $75 examination registration fee.
Failure to pass the examination shall have no effect on the status of the commission of the notary.
Pursuant to Act 423 of the 2006 Regular Louisiana Legislative Session the Notary Examination will be administered by the Secretary of State on the first Saturday in June and December.
The Secretary of State's office must receive 45 days prior to the date of the examination the Application to Qualify with the qualifying fee of $25 and the Notary Examination Registration Form with a separate examination registration fee of $75
Examination Format for the December 7, 2013 Examination
The three components of the Louisiana State Notary Examination are administered in one six-hour sitting. To pass the examination, applicants must earn a passing score on all three components. Applicants may take as much time as they choose on each component; however, they may work only on one component at a time, in the following order:
- General Knowledge Component (45 minutes recommended time)
- Research Component (45 minutes recommended time)
- Scenario Component (4 hours recommended time)
These times are recommended only; applicants may spend as much time as they choose on a component, not to exceed six hours for the entire testing period, including any breaks the applicant may elect to take between components. Although applicants may use the time in any manner they choose, they must complete and turn in the materials for one component before proceeding to the next.
The General-Knowledge Component consists of items pertaining to information from the current (2013) edition of Fundamentals of Louisiana Notarial Law and Practice (the Louisiana notary-public examination official study guide published by the Secretary of State). These items test the applicant’s (1) knowledge of the material contained in, or referenced by, the study guide and the Louisiana Civil Code (LCC) and (2) ability to comprehend and apply the information. No reference materials may be used on this part of the test. Using reference materials here constitutes cheating and is grounds for dismissal from the test.
The Research Component presents examinees with passages from both volumes of West’s Louisiana Civil Code (LCC). Examinees must locate the passage in the LCC, then respond correctly to a simple question pertaining to the passage. For this component, the examinee will use either of the two most recent editions (2012, 2013) of the LCC. Applicants must furnish their own copies of either resource. The pages in the LCC may be marked up, highlighted, or annotated in any way, but inserted pages, tabs, or attachments of any kind are NOT allowed. As indicated above, an attachment will consist of any material affixed (glued, taped, stapled, et.al.) or overlaid into or on any pages of your book. No other resources may be used on this portion of the examination.
Two parts comprise the Scenario Component: (1) a Written Part that requires candidates to demonstrate the ability to write basic notarial acts in proper form; and (2) a Critical Knowledge Part that requires applicants to demonstrate critical understanding of specific notarial acts and related instruments by reading texts of scenarios that mirror notarial practice in Louisiana and responding to multiple-choice items based on the texts. To achieve a passing score on the Scenario Component, applicants must pass both parts in a single sitting or administration of the Louisiana Notary Public Examination.
The recommended time for the Written Part is one hour. Applicants will be asked to demonstrate the ability to write basic notarial acts in proper form, including, but not limited to, acknowledgements, affidavits, authentic acts, and simple notarial testaments.
The recommended time for the Critical Knowledge Part is three hours. Applicants will read scenarios in which constituents request the development of notarial instruments. In lieu of actually writing or developing the instruments, applicants will respond to multiple-choice items pertaining to the notary’s role in addressing the intent of the parties. Preparation for the Scenario Component should be focused on notarial acts and instruments associated with (1) the conveyance and mortgage of movable or immovable property; (2) notarial testaments; and (3) succession by affidavit; however, applicants should be knowledgeable of the inclusive list of notarial instruments and areas of concern presented on pages 569 to 572 of the official study guide.
For the Scenario Component the applicant may use only the current (2013) edition of Fundamentals of Louisiana Notarial Law and Practice (the Louisiana notary-public examination official study guide published by the Secretary of State), although it is not required. The pages existing in the study guide may be marked up, highlighted, or annotated in any way, but it may NOT include inserted pages, tabs, or attachments of any kind. An attachment will consist of any material affixed (glued, taped, stapled, et.al.) or overlaid into or on any pages of the book. No other resources may be used on this portion of the examination.
Sources of Examination Items
The December 7, 2013, examination will be drawn from the 2013 edition of the official study guide and from the 2012 or 2013 edition of the LCC. Substantive information in earlier editions of both the LCC and the official study guide is no longer applicable to informed and accurate notarial practice.
Exemption from Specific Components
Applicants who pass any component of the test but fail to receive a passing overall score are exempted from the passed component(s) for three years.
Important Examination-Day Information
Eating (including consumption of candy, gum, and breath mints), drinking, the use of tobacco or reading materials are not permitted in the testing room. Other prohibited items include timers, cell phones, pagers, electronic devices of any kind, computers, PDA’s, recording devices, media devices, textbooks, dictionaries, notes and scratch paper. If an applicant is found with an electronic device at his or her desk at any time during the examination, or if the applicant uses any such device at any time during the test (including the break), he or she will be dismissed from the examination, will not receive a refund, and the applicant’s test will not be scored.
Procedures for Review
Louisiana R.S. 35:191.1 (A)(3) makes a provision for review of examinations. All items presented on the test are subjected to post-test statistical analysis that provides a basis for adjustments to the passing score for these components. Additionally, at the test administration, applicants may request a form on which they may challenge the validity of any item as written.