Prepare for the notary exam
"The Fundamentals of Louisiana Notarial Law and Practice"
The 2015 edition of the Louisiana Notary Public examination official study guide is now available for purchase.
The current edition of the study guide can be obtained from the Secretary of State's office. You can order the study guide online using a credit card. You can also complete an order form and pay by check, money order or credit card. Order forms are accepted by mail or fax. The cost of the study guide is $90 and is non-refundable. Make checks payable to Secretary of State.
Due to an unexpected increase in orders, the study guides will be sent out via U.S. Postal Service in 3 to 4 weeks.
For current information about the examination, see Get Exam Information.
No course or class is required by law in order for you to take the examination, but we suggest you take a course or join a study group. Although the Secretary of State does not recommend particular courses or instructors, we maintain the list of registered and bonded notary exam preparator course providers.