To register to vote you must:
- be a U.S. citizen;
- be 17 years old (16 years old if registering in person at the Registrar of Voters Office or at the Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles), but must be 18 years old to vote;
- not be under an order of imprisonment for conviction of a felony;
- not be under a judgment of full interdiction for mental incompetence or partial interdiction with suspension of voting rights;
- reside in the state and parish in which you seek to register; and
- must be registered at least 20 days prior to an election if registering through our GeauxVote Online Registration System or 30 days prior to an election if registering in person or by mail registration to be eligible to vote in that particular election.
View special provisions for military and overseas voters.
All voter registration information and applications of persons who are 16 or 17 years of age are confidential. For all other registered voters, the following information is confidential:
- driver's license number;
- social security number;
- day and month of voter's birth;
- mother's maiden name;
- email address;
- mobile phone number;
- text message service; and
- if voter is entitled to assistance in voting.
Apply online to register to vote or make changes to your registration.
Register in Person
Apply in person to register to vote at any Registrar of Voters Office.
You may also register in person at any of the following locations:
- Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles;
- Louisiana Department of Children and Family Services;
- WIC offices;
- food stamp offices;
- Medicaid offices;
- offices serving persons with disabilities such as the Deaf Action Centers and Independent Living Offices; or
- Armed Forces recruitment offices.
If registering in person at a parish Registrar of Voters Office, you are required to prove age, residency and identity. You must submit your current Louisiana driver's license, if you have one, or your birth certificate or other documentation which reasonably and sufficiently establishes your identity, age and residency.
If you have no picture ID, you may bring a utility bill, payroll check, or government document that includes your name and address.
If registering at a mandated site, no further proof of identification is required other than whatever proof is required for services received that you have applied for at the public agency.
Register by Mail
Apply by mail by downloading the Louisiana Voter Registration Application, completing it and mailing it to your local Registrar of Voters Office. Please note that the list of offices for registrars of voters is also included on the form.
You may also register by using a National Mail Voter Registration Form.
Faxed voter registration forms are not accepted. The voter registration form should be addressed and mailed or hand-delivered to the appropriate registrar of voters in the parish in which you are registering. Deadlines requiring receipt in the Registrar of Voters Office may be missed if you do not mail directly to the registrar of voters in your parish. You must be registered at least 20 days prior to an election if registering through our GeauxVote Online Registration System or 30 days prior to an election if registering in person or by mail registration to be eligible to vote in that particular election.
The registrar of voters mails a verification mailing card to verify the address you have provided when registering by mail. If you do not receive a mailing from the registrar of voters within two weeks of registering, please contact their office.
In order to be eligible to vote in Louisiana for a particular election, you must be registered at least 20 days prior to an election if registering through our GeauxVote Online Registration System or 30 days prior to an election if registering in person or by mail registration.
No cost is associated with registering to vote. It is a right afforded to you as a United States citizen by the U.S. Constitution.
You must qualify to register with a residence address in the parish with a street or rural route address. Post office box addresses and mail center boxes do not qualify. The registrar of voters must know where you live so you are assigned to the proper voting precinct for Election Day. If you have multiple residences and claim a homestead exemption, you must register to vote using your homestead exemption address; however, if you do not claim homestead exemption and reside at more than one place in the state with an intention to reside there indefinitely, you may register only at one of the places at which you reside. However, there is an exception in the law for a person who resides in a nursing home or in a veterans' home. They may register and vote at the address where the nursing home or veterans' home is located, even though they have a homestead exemption on their residence.
Displaced voters: If you were involuntarily displaced to a new parish or state due to a gubernatorially declared emergency, but want to remain registered to vote at your pre-emergency address, you may remain registered there if you have not changed your registration address or filed a homestead exemption on a different residence. You should provide a mailing address, if different from your pre-emergency residence address, to your registrar of voters to remain an active voter.
Moved: If you have changed residence inside your parish after registering to vote, you should notify the registrar of voters in your parish of any changes to your registration or make changes online.
If you have changed residence outside your parish after registering to vote, you are only eligible to remain registered and to vote in that parish for three months prior to an election. You must register in your new parish.
Once you are registered in your parish, you will remain registered as an active voter. If you move and your residence address is not able to be verified through the U.S. Postal Service during the annual canvass or you do not return the address confirmation card issued during the annual canvass to all voters who have moved or whose address cannot be verified, you will be placed on inactive status. You can activate your status by verifying your residence address online with a change of address or in person either on Election Day before voting or at the Registrar of Voters Office by completing an address confirmation card. If you do not verify your address and do not vote in two federal general elections, you may be canceled. You may also be suspended or canceled if you lose your civil rights or register to vote in another state. Your registration cannot be canceled between primary and general elections unless the registration was fraudulently placed on the registration records or if you are canceled pursuant to the annual canvas conducted by the registrar of voters. A person whose registration has been canceled is not permitted to vote until they submit a new registration to the registrar of voters.
A change of name can be made by producing, in the presence of the registrar of voters, an affidavit stating the name under which the person desires to be registered. A person who changes their name by virtue of a judgment of court shall file with the registrar of voters a certified copy of the judgment or affidavit.
Voter Registration Drive Best Practices
Review Voter Registration Drive Best Practices for more information on how to conduct a successful voter registration drive.