The Secretary of State's Office will be closed on Thursday, Nov. 27 and Friday, Nov. 28 in observance of Thanksgiving and Acadian Days. The office will re-open on Monday, Dec. 1 at 8 a.m. Early voting will re-open on Saturday, Nov. 29 at 8:30 a.m. until 6 p.m. For museum closures, view Holiday Museum Closures under News & Events.
  Home > Elections & Voting > Information for Public Officials > File an Oath of Office

File an Oath of Office

Oaths of Office (R.S. 42:141)

All public officers shall take and subscribe to the oath of office required by the Louisiana Constitution, Article X, Section 30 before acting in their respective offices.

The Secretary of State mails to each elected public officer a commission certificate, two Oath of Office forms, a Code of Governmental Ethics booklet and an ID card at least two weeks prior to the beginning of the elected public officer's term of office.

The following individuals can administer oaths of office:

  • Governor;
  • Secretary of State;
  • Judges;
  • Clerks of Court;
  • Notary Publics; and
  • Justices of Peace.

Each public officer shall take his oath of office within thirty (30) days after receipt of the commission. All state officers shall file their original oath of office with the Secretary of State. All parish officials shall file an original with the Secretary of State and a second original with the Clerk of Court in the parish where they are elected.

Information on the oath of office is entered into our database of elected and appointed officials, including name, address, and telephone number(s). Information on oaths of office are public record.