GET RECORDS MANAGEMENT TRAINING
The Records Management program currently offers four classes regarding records management related topics. There is no registration fee for any class offered. Advance registration is required for all classes to ensure adequate materials and are seating are available. Attendees are encouraged to bring a jacket or sweater because some have found the rooms to be cooler than they expected.
Records Management 1 - Overview of Records Management Laws and Programs (1.5 hours)
This class is an introductory class for governmental agency records management liaisons and other agency employees who want a better understanding about the records management laws in Louisiana and what their agency needs to know about records management in order to comply with these laws. The class will cover responsibilities of the records management liaison and the administrative rules governing records management in Louisiana.
This class will also stress the importance of disaster planning (business continuity planning) from the records management perspective.
This class is available in Baton Rouge on Nov. 12 at 8:30 a.m. It will also be held in Baton Rouge at 1 p.m. on Aug. 19, Sept. 23, Oct. 14, and Dec. 10.
Records Management 2 - Records Retention Schedule Development and Revisions (1.5 hours)
This class is an introductory class on records retention schedules and their development and revision. This class is recommended for any agency needing to develop a records retention schedule for the first time or needing to review or revise their schedule. Class will include instruction on inventory methods and how to complete the records retention schedule forms used by the Louisiana State Archives.
The class will review the different classes of records (vital, important and useful) and how to assign those designations to existing and future records series. The class will also review the procedures for dealing with damaged records and what to do if a disaster strikes.
This class is available in Baton Rouge on Nov. 12 at 10:15 a.m. It will also be held in Baton Rouge at 2:45 p.m. on Aug. 19, Sep. 23, Oct. 14 and Dec. 10.
Imaging Policy/Imaging Exception Application Process (1.5 hours)
This class is designed to give agencies considering or currently imaging records a better understanding of the records management laws and processes they need to be aware of concerning imaging and the requirements the must meet in order to use imaging for maintenance of their records. This class will also review the recently approved imaging exception application process and explain the process for applying for the exception. This class will also help agencies determine if the application may be useful to their agency.
This class is available in Baton Rouge at 9 a.m. on Aug. 20, Sept. 24, Oct. 15 and Dec. 11. It will also be available in Baton Rouge on Nov. 12 at 1 p.m.
Records Storage 1 - Storing Records in the State Records Center and Donating Records to the State Archives (1 hour)
This class will review how agencies can transfer their records to the State Records Center for temporary storage and the information they will need to provide to facilitate the transfer of the records into storage. This class will also discuss the process of how agency records are donated to the State Archives and the important differences between the State Records Center and the State Archives.
This class is available in Baton Rouge at 10:45 a.m. on Aug. 20, Sept. 24, Oct. 15 and Dec. 11. It will also be available in Baton Rouge on Nov. 12 at 2:45 p.m.
Note: The dates of the December classes have changed to Dec. 10 and 11. Changes to the registration form are currently in progress. Please use the current form and add the appropriate date(s) for the December classes.
To register, please send us your Records Management Training Registration Form via fax to 225.922.1220 or via mail to:
Louisiana State Archives,
Attn: Records Management
P.O. Box 94125
Baton Rouge, LA 70804
Forms should be sent so that they can be received at least one day in advance of the class. Seating is on a first- come, first-serve basis.
If a class you select is full, you will be contacted to reschedule for the next available date. No registration confirmations will be sent. Questions about this training can be directed to the program's Records Management Officer Statewide at 225.925.7552 or a records analyst at 225.925.4955 or 225.362.5181.
All Baton Rouge classes will be held at:
Louisiana State Archives
Wade O. Martin Jr. Auditorium
3851 Essen Lane
Baton Rouge, LA 70809