Print

Voting Early

All registered voters may cast a ballot during the early voting period at the Registrar of Voters Office or at an alternate site designated for early voting. You do not need a reason to vote early.
The early voting period is from 14 days to seven days before each election, from 8:30 a.m. - 6 p.m. (except Sundays and legal holidays).  One day of early voting will be added to the beginning of the early voting period anytime one or more state holidays (except Sundays) fall within the early voting period.

Persons in nursing homes, veterans' homes or long stay hospitals for a physical disability may apply for the nursing home program to vote during and extended early voting period at their facility.
At your parish Registrar of Voters Office or at an alternate site designated for early voting.
No, a voter who has voted during the early voting period or voted absentee by mail and their ballot was received by the registrar of voters may not vote at the polls on Election Day.

Voters in Louisiana are responsible to:

  • Notify your parish registrar of voters of any changes to your registration. (Failure to update your residential address may result in an inactive registration status. Inactive voters must verify their residential address prior to voting, which may be done on election day at the precinct, in person at the Registrar of Voters Office, online at www.GeauxVote.com, or by mail through a voter registration application.)

  • Know where you may vote early, its location, days of operation and hours.

  • Provide photo identification or complete a Voter Identification Affidavit (Photo ID may be a Louisiana driver's license, Louisiana special identification card, or other generally recognized photo ID that contains your name and signature and you may obtain a free Louisiana special identification card by presenting your voter registration information card to the Office of Motor Vehicles.)

  • Not bring or wear any campaign literature to the polls during early voting.

  • Be prepared in order to timely cast your ballot by reviewing your Sample Ballot posted at the polling place or review online before election day on the Louisiana Voter Portal or download the GeauxVote app for any smartphone or tablet for the latest voting information in order to timely cast your ballot.
 
  • Provide or complete necessary documentation when requesting assistance in voting if not previously marked as being eligible for assistance.
  • Inform the registrar or deputy if you need a braille booklet, audio voting ballot or page magnifier to assist you in voting.
  • Cast your vote within the 3 minute time limit provided by law; or within 20 minutes if receiving assistance or using the audio voting keypad.
  • Promptly leave the polling place after voting.
 
In Louisiana, you have a right to:
  • Vote privately, confidentially and independently in an area that is free from any campaign materials.
  • Ask a commissioner to instruct you on how to operate the voting machine before voting. 
  • A campaign-free zone 600 feet from the entrance to the polling place that is free from solicitation, intimidation, harassment, confusion, obstruction and undue influence, use of violence, force or threats or action that impedes your entrance or exit to the polling place.
  • Vote in a polling place that meets accessibility standards for individuals with disabilities.
  • Receive assistance in casting your ballot or use the audio ballot if you are unable to read or unable to vote without assistance due to a physical disability, including visual impairment.
  • Use a braille booklet describing the use of the audio ballot or use a page magnifier that will magnify the face of the voting machine.
  • Go to the front of the line with the person who will be assisting you in voting if you have a visible physical disability or have in your possession a current mobility-impaired hang tag issued by the Office of Motor Vehicles for disability parking.
An inactive status means that your registration address has not been verified by the registrar of voters through the annual canvass of the voter rolls or election mail sent to your registration address has been returned as undeliverable by the postal service to the registrar of voters.

You may still vote!  In order to do so and return to active status, you must verify your residential address prior to voting.  You may do this when you vote on Election Day, in person at the Registrar of Voters Officeonline or by mail through a voter registration application. If you verify your address before Election Day, you must do so at least 30 days before an election for your status to be updated for that election.
A person convicted of a felony and sentenced to imprisonment may restore their voting rights upon completion of probation and parole.  To restore your voting rights after a felony conviction, you must appear in person at the registrar of voters office, complete a voter registration application and provide documentation to prove that you have completed your probation and/or parole.  If you are disabled and homebound, you may submit your application and documentation by mail, facsimile, commercial carrier or hand delivery. 
Voters in Louisiana may request assistance in voting when they are registering to vote or when making a change to their voter registration.  Assistance in voting is allowed when you have a physical disability or you are unable to read.

PRIOR TO ELECTION DAY - A voter, who is physically disabled or unable to read, may request assistance in voting by timely completing a voter registration application requesting assistance.  These voters will be marked in the precinct register or the voter registration system as being entitled to receive assistance in voting.

ON ELECTION DAY or DURING EARLY VOTING - A voter who is not marked in the precinct register or the voter registration system as being entitled to receive assistance in voting may apply to receive assistance in one of the following manners:
    1.  Beginning 1/1/18 if physically disabled, request assistance in voting by completing and signing a physical disability affidavit and a new voter registration application.  
    2.  Alternatively, a request for assistance in voting may be made by presenting proof of disability through one of the following documents:
  • a physician's certificate indicating the voter's inability to vote without assistance because of a physical disability;
  • a current mobility-impaired hang tag issued by the Office of Motor Vehicles for disability parking; or
  • a copy of current documentation showing eligibility for disability benefits from either social security, veterans affairs, paratransit services, the Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities or the Louisiana Rehabilitation Services.
These documents may also be presented to the registrar of voters by mail and the voter is required to include a copy of their Louisiana driver's license, Louisiana special identification card, or other generally recognized photo ID with name and signature. If mailed timely, the registrar will mark the voter in the voter registration system and the precinct register as being entitled to receive assistance in voting and the voter will not be required to present evidence when voting.

Voters entitled to assistance in voting are allowed up to 20 minutes to cast their ballots and may choose to receive the assistance from any person, including a commissioner, with these exceptions:
  • a candidate in the election;
  • a commissioner-in-charge;
  • an employer or employer's agent;
  • a union agent; 
  • staff of state-operated facilities for disabled persons (by rule, the Department of Health and Hospitals (DHH) prohibits staff from assisting residents of state-operated facilities for mentally disabled/developmentally disabled persons); and
  • owners, operators, administrators or employees of a nursing home, veterans' home or long stay hospitals for those with physical disabilities may not assist a person in voting. 
The person or commissioner assisting the voter is required to sign the precinct register and to check a box if the voter is not marked in the precinct register as being entitled to receive assistance in voting.  No person assisting a voter shall reveal the name of any person for whom the voter voted, any proposition the voter voted on or anything that took place while the voter was being assisted.
Each voter is required to identify himself by giving his name and address before voting by presenting a Louisiana driver's license, a Louisiana special identification card or other generally recognized picture identification card that contains the name and signature of the applicant or by completing a Voter Identification Affidavit if no photo identification is available. A voter without photo ID may vote after completing the affidavit but is subject to challenge by law.

You may obtain a free Louisiana special identification card by presenting your voter information card to the Office of Motor Vehicles.
Louisiana uses the AVC Edge Voting System during early voting. Paper ballots may be used, if necessary. All elections are open to all eligible voters in Louisiana, except for the Presidential Preference Primary and the state and local party elections (Democratic and Republican State Central Committees and Parish Executive Committees). which are restricted to party registration.

The early voting machine is a touchscreen voting machine. When voting, tap the screen lightly. To cast a ballot, a voter must make at least one selection in a candidate or proposition election. You are allowed by law three minutes to cast your vote, or 20 minutes if entitled to assistance or using the audio voting ballot. Always ask the registrar or deputy for instructions on how to operate the early voting machine if you are unsure.

After receiving a voter card, insert it into the bright yellow slot located at the bottom left of the voting machine. Insert the voter card until you hear it click. Ask for assistance if needed to insert your voter card. Select a candidate of your choice or select yes or no for a proposition by tapping the box to the right of the candidates name or next to the yes or no. A green x will appear in the box indicating that your selection is made.

To change your selection, press the box again. The x will disappear and you may make a new selection.

Continue to the following page by touching the NEXT arrow located at the bottom right side of the screen. To return to the previous screen, touch the BACK arrow at the bottom left side of the screen. Review a summary of all your votes on the review page. To make a change, touch the office or issue to return to the ballot page for that contest.

If you believe that your ballot is not correct you must notify the registrar or deputy prior to casting your vote.To complete voting, touch the yellow square that reads TOUCH HERE TO CAST YOUR VOTE. You will see RECORDING VOTE, PLEASE WAIT. Then you will see VOTE RECORDED, THANK YOU. Please return your voter card. Your vote will be counted electronically and tabulated by the Parish Board of Election Supervisors on election night.
No, Louisiana does not allow for write-in candidates.  The only exception is for military and overseas citizens who are voting on a Federal Write-in Absentee Ballot (FWAB) and they may write in the candidate names, but only the candidates that are actually on Louisiana's ballot.
Louisiana state law prohibits:
  • giving or offering to give, directly or indirectly, money or anything of present or prospective value to influence a vote;
  • intimidating, deceiving or misinforming, directly or indirectly, any voter or prospective voter in matters concerning voting or nonvoting;
  • voting or attempting to vote more than once at an election;
  • offering money or anything of apparent present or prospective value or use, directly or indirectly, or engage in any form of intimidation to influence the action or encourage inaction of any election official with regard to the duties of their office;
  • disobeying any lawful instruction of the registrar, deputy registrars, commissioners or a law enforcement officer assisting at the early voting location or without lawful authority, obstructing, hindering or delaying any voter on his way to or while returning home from any early voting location where an election is held or impede a voter from entering or exiting an early voting location;
  • voting or attempting to vote, knowing that you are not qualified, or influencing or attempting to influence another to vote, knowing such voter to be unqualified or the vote to be fraudulent;
  • voting or attempting to vote in the name of another or in an assumed or fictitious name, or in any manner other than as provided by the Louisiana Election Code;
  • supplying a false answer or statement to an election official or on any document required by the Louisiana Election Code, or executing an affidavit knowing it to contain false or incorrect information;
  • forging the name of another, or using a fictitious name on an affidavit or document required by the Louisiana Election Code;
  • unlawfully, directly or indirectly, possessing, tampering with, breaking, impairing, impeding or otherwise interfering with the maintenance, adjustment, delivery, use or operation of any voting machine or with any paraphernalia connected with or appertaining to the machine;
  • voters, election officials, watchers (Election Day only), or persons assisting a voter to allow a ballot to be seen, (except as provided by law), announce the manner in which a person has cast a ballot, place a distinguishing mark on a ballot with intent to make the ballot identifiable or make a false statement concerning a voter's ability to mark a ballot without assistance;
  • coercing, compelling or otherwise influencing an assisted voter to cast a vote in a certain way or fail to mark the ballot or vote in the manner dictated by the voter by the person providing assistance;
  • signing another voter's name in the precinct register;
  • attempting to influence an election official or watcher (Election Day only) in the performance of his or her duties;
  • appearing in an intoxicated condition or possessing any beverage of alcoholic content;
  • voting at the polls on election day if you have voted early or submitted your absentee by mail ballot;
  • voting if you have moved more than three months ago to an address outside of the parish or if registered to vote in another parish or state;
  • remaining within any early voting location or within a radius of 600 feet of the entrance of any early voting location, except when exercising the right to vote, after having been directed by a registrar, deputy registrar, commissioner or law enforcement officer to leave the premises or area of an early voting location;
  • placing or displaying political signs, pictures, or other forms of political advertising and/or handing out, placing or displaying campaign cards, pictures or other campaign literature of any kind or description whatsoever, unless on private property which is not being used as an early voting location;
  • carrying or possessing a firearm even with a concealed carry permit, except a peace officer in the performance of his or her duties; and
  • accepting directly, or indirectly anything of economic value, including reimbursement of costs, for the purpose of transporting a voter to an early voting location or for driving or being in charge of any motor vehicle being used for such purpose (bus, taxi or licensed transportation are exempt).
View the Louisiana Election Code, Title 18 of Louisiana's revised statutes.
Federal law prohibits:
  • knowingly and willfully intimidating, threatening, coercing or attempting to intimidate, threaten or coerce any person for voting or urging or aiding any person to vote or attempting to vote in any election for federal office;
  • knowingly and willfully depriving, defrauding, or attempting to deprive or defraud the residents of Louisiana of a fair and impartially conducted election process by the procurement, casting or tabulation of ballots that are known by the person to be materially false, fictitious or fraudulent under the laws of the state of Louisiana in any election for federal office; and
  • conspiring to injure, oppress, threaten or intimidate any person in the free exercise or enjoyment of the right to vote or because of his or her having so exercised the right to vote.
Yes, a law enforcement officer may be used by a registrar of voters to maintain order at any location where early voting is conducted. A law enforcement officer may not interfere with the conduct of the election, the voters, or the election officials.
No, not even for a concealed carry permit.  The only exception is for a peace officer as defined by La R.S. 40:2402(3)(a) in the performance of their official duties.
To report fraud in a federal election, contact the nearest office of the FBI or your local U.S. Attorney's office. Additionally, you may contact the Elections Compliance Unit ("ECU") toll-free at 800.722.5305, the Election's Division toll-free at 800.883.2805.

To report a federal violation under The Voting Rights Act of 1965, which prohibits racial or language minority discrimination in voting, contact:

Chief, Voting Section, Civil Rights Division
Room 7254-NWB
Department of Justice
950 Pennsylvania Ave. NW
Washington, DC 20530

toll-free 800.253.3931
202.307.2767

To make a complaint under the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, contact: Voting Rights Division, Department of Justice toll-free 800.514.0301 (option 7)

To file a notarized written complaint under the Help America Vote Act, contact: Election's Division toll-free at 800.883.2805.
To report voting fraud, contact the Elections Division toll-free at 800.883.2805 or contact the nearest office of the FBI or your local U.S. Attorney's office.

To file a written notarized complaint with the elections division of the Louisiana Department of State, contact:

Commissioner of Elections
Department of State
P.O. Box 94125
Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9125
If you have further questions about voting early, please call your parish registrar of voters.